Badminton Association of India congratulates players who won the National Sports Awards

The Badminton Association of India (BAI) has congratulated the six former and current badminton players on Sunday. All these players will be honored with various awards during a virtual ceremony on National Sports Day on 29 August. For the first time in badminton, six players (former and current) will be awarded the National Sports Awards.

The men’s doubles duo of Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Ranireddy have been selected for the Arjuna Award while former shuttlers Pradeep Gandhe, Trupti Murgunde and Satyaprakash Tiwari (Para-Badminton) will be honored with the prestigious Dhyanchand Award for their contribution to the game. Badminton team’s head coach Gaurav Khanna has been selected for the Dronacharya Award (regular category). Under his supervision, the Indian team has achieved many successes besides the gold medal in the World Championship.

BAI Secretary Ajay Singhania said in a release issued here, ‘On behalf of BAI and its President Himanta Biswa Sarma, I would like to congratulate the three winners of the Dhyan Chand Award along with Coach Khanna and others. Khanna took the para team to new heights. 23-year-old Chirag from Mumbai and Satwik from Amalapuram had a resounding success in 2019. The pair won the first Super 500 title at the Thailand Open and then reached the final of the French Open Super 750. This Indian pair managed to reach the world ranking 10th position on the basis of their consistent performance.
Singhania said, “There is always a bright future expected from young players. It is fantastic to see Chirag and Satwik doing consistently well on the international circuit. He said, ‘He deserves such an award for his performance. I am sure that Indian shuttlers will continue to encourage the country.

Gandhe, a contemporary of Prakash Padukone and Syed Modi, will be awarded for his contribution as a coach and BAI official besides winning the doubles bronze at the 1982 Asian Games. While two-time South Asian gold medalist Murgunde was known for his brilliant talent on the court, Tiwari has won nine international medals in the recognized para events. Singhania said, “Getting Dhyan Chand Award for the first time is a special moment for Indian badminton. Such honors always encourage us to work hard. ‘